top of page

I'm doing it all right, so why...

Are you not succeeding? Well it's not that what I told you is wrong BUT that there's certain microscopic factors that no one tells you that can drastically change your results. As a designer and artist I know one of the biggest issues people have is unappealing looking posts. Not only this but a lack of professionalism can prevent people from interacting with you as well. Let's go over every little detail that may be holding you back!


Consistency

Everyone says it but no one ever says WHY you should be consistent. Consistency doesn't necessarily mean daily posts either, here's the textbook definition.


con·sist·ent

/kənˈsist(ə)nt/

adjective

  1. acting or done in the same way over time, especially so as to be fair or accurate.


You need to be posting the same kind of content on your pages, if every single post you have is something different, people are less likely to follow you because they don't know what to expect, no one wants random stuff out of the blue. This doesn't mean you can't post multiple topics, especially if you have a large skillset, it just means ONLY do those topics. For me since I'm a Vtuber and Artist I always post my art commissions, models and Vtubing related questions! Because of this my account looks consistent and you can get an idea of what to expect from me. This step may take awhile but you should have at least 16 posts relating to what you do so that when people scroll on your profile they know what to expect.


Professionalism

Next Professionalism. There's a few different ways to make your account look more professional, unfortunately the easiest way being spending butt loads of money on good artwork, logos and such, but you DON'T have to do that. Let's start with your bio.



Making a Good Bio

Summarize who you are and what you do, even better, sell to your audience why they should follow you over a similar competitor. My bio currently says that I'm a mixed reality content creator proving dreams do come true. Mixed Reality is so niche that I actually don't have many competitors in the field, not only this but proving to others dreams come true can provide a sense of hope for people who don't have it, the entire reason I want to prove dreams come true is that I myself don't believe I'll ever make it, I want to be that inspiration for someone just like me, for someone who needs it. A common bio that works with Vtubers is being a Live2D Artist and Rigger since they are in high demand they'll get more follows since people require their work. Another few I've seen are "I became a millionaire in 10 years" "Learning Photography for Free" "I'll show you how to make bank in stocks!" these are pretty obviously marketing ones but even something as simple as sharing who you are can make people want your content!


Your Hover Profile

I've literally never seen anyone talk about this but it's extremely important for followers you'll gain on desktop.



Your hover profile needs to be well formatted and easy to read, it's also important to provide a link to your most important platform. I've provided a link to my Twitch so that anyone who hovers over my name can EASILY go check out and maybe even follow my Twitch! This is what most desktop users will use to follow you, majority of people will NEVER click on your actual profile unless they have to so make sure your most important details are listed here!


Your Banner and Profile Picture

These are extremely important for a sense of branding, or maybe you have some other stuff to tell people that didn't quite fit in your bio. Your banner should be a perfect showcase of what you do, for example if you're a photographer show off one of your best pictures either standalone or with some text like: "Photographer of 10 years helping beginners everywhere." Remember it needs to be obvious who you are and WHY people should care about you.


As for the profile picture, make sure it's a high quality photo with a lot of contrast and you can see it easily from a distance. My current profile picture is a great example of this as you can clearly see my face is separated from the background, drawing more attention to it. My PFP still has it's own issues though as you can't really see my nose or mouth from a distance. Here are some examples of "good" and "bad" profile pictures and why.


(Wanted to note that I don't truly believe in "good" or "bad" but explaining my concept is easier to understand with these words.)



Authors Note: This is coming from what I've learned as an artist and designer, value and contrast do play a huge role in how well we see things but there is never a set in stone right or wrong way to do anything, I'm simply sharing what's worked for me and for others alike that can INCREASE chances of success!


How Do I Make a Good Post?

Posts like the kind I make are a lot more than just text and an image, there needs to be a clear distinction between the two, it needs to quickly catch your attention when scrolling and It needs to be easy to see / read. Post design is very important, everything you post needs to be appealing and eye catching to the audience, not only that but they need to care about the actual premise itself.


Of course depending on what you're posting your content may look different to mine but all these methods still apply. I highly recommend you use a free art program to make your posts over say something like Canva as there are more tools available to you to make your posts more appealing. The free programs I personally use are Ibis Paint X for mobile and Krita for desktop, I will say I much prefer the features in Ibis.


To easily check your values make a layer on top of your current image and fill it with black with the bucket tool, then go to your Blend Modes and select "Saturation" this will make everything grayscale and easily let you see what stands out and what doesn't, you can then go back and fix what needs changing. You can also easily toggle it on and off with the little eye next to it so you can keep checking your work.



But, that's a lot of effort!

Yeah, being a content creator in general isn't an easy feat, you need to put in GOOD hard work to make it big as an entertainer and social media influencer. If you don't want to put in the work you don't have to, hey you may just get lucky! Just remember you only live one life, why not make the most of it?


Good luck on your journey.

Recent Posts

See All

The Truth.

No one cares. Yes, really! No one will care about you unless you give them a REASON! I struggled with extreme anxiety for YEARS in fear...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page